Worldsteel elects new officers and welcomes new members

The Board of Directors of the World Steel Association (worldsteel) yesterday elected new officers for 2017/2018 at the worldsteel General Assembly in Brussels. The new officers are elected for a one-year period. Worldsteel also welcomed new members.
Rainer Sturm,

Worldsteel yesterday elected the following new officers for 2017/2018 at the worldsteel General Assembly in Brussels. The new officers are elected for a one-year period:

  • Chairman: Kosei SHINDO, Representative Director & President, Nippon Steel and Sumitomo Metal Corporation
  • Vice Chairman: John FERRIOLA, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, President, Nucor Corporation
  • Vice Chairman: Ohjoon KWON, CEO, POSCO
  • Treasurer: Sajjan JINDAL, Chairman and Managing Director, JSW Steel Limited

The Board of Directors also elected the 2017/18 Executive Committee:

Wolfgang EDER, voestalpine AG
John FERRIOLA, Nucor Corporation
Heinrich HIESINGER, thyssenkrupp AG
Sajjan JINDAL, JSW Steel Limited
André JOHANNPETER, Gerdau S.A.
Koji KAKIGI, JFE Steel Corporation
MA Guoqiang, China Baowu Steel Group Corporation Limited
Lakshmi MITTAL, ArcelorMittal
Alexey MORDASHOV, Severstal (PAO)
Thachat Viswanath NARENDRAN, Tata Steel Limited
Roger NEWPORT, AK Steel Corporation
Paolo ROCCA, Techint Group
Kosei SHINDO, Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation
YU Yong, HBIS Group Co., Ltd.
and Edwin BASSON, World Steel Association

The Board of Directors also welcomed the following companies as new members of worldsteel:

Regular members (steel companies producing more than 2 million short tons (1.8 metric tonnes) per annum):

  • China Baowu Steel Group Corporation Limited, represented by MA Guoqiang
  • Essar Steel Algoma d.b.a ALGOMA, represented by Kalyan GHOSH
  • Liberty OneSteel (formerly Arrium Limited), represented by Sanjeev GUPTA
  • Toscelik Profil Ve Sac Endustrisi A.Ş., represented by Fuat TOSYALI

Associate members (steel companies producing less than 2 million short tons (1.8 metric tonnes) per annum):

  • Abul Khair Steel Group, represented by Imran MOMIN
  • Bahru Stainless Sdn Bhd, represented by Oswald WOLFE
  • PT Gunung Raja Paksi, represented by Tony TANIWAN

Affiliate members (steel-related associations)

  • A3M: Alliance de Minérais, Minéraux, et Métaux, represented by Claire de LANGERON
  • Materials Processing Institute, represented by Chris McDONALD
  • World Refractories Association (WRA), represented by Simona VACKEOVA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.